A Guide to Spiders

Discussion in 'Underdepths' started by Authyrtyr, Mar 16, 2014.

1. Authyrtyr

Authyrtyr The King of Potatoes

When I started playing PoxNora UD Spiders was the first good BG I built and having played it for a few years I feel like I can speak intelligently on it and give some recommendations on how to build a good spider deck.

What's so great about Spiders?
    Spiders can attack the opponent for great damage like any good Underdepths BG but they stand out in their ability to deftly climb over any terrain (by round 3 or so), global multiattack, and their ability to swarm the enemy. Spiders swarm so well that I consistently see surge units hit play at 30-40 damage. In addition spiders have the good fortune of being very cheap to build, the critical champs are mostly non legendary. The legendary for spiders, unlike some thematic legendaries, isn't at all necessary for a fully functioning thematic build (unlike say Lonx Chieftain or Snaptooth Chilan). This makes it a great deck for new players to try and build.

What's the catch?
    If the enemy deploys something with sever summons things can get sketchy and Spiders are certainly susceptible to AoE Spells, X Blast abilities, Cone Attack Abilities, or anything with good Crowd Control (looking at you Draksar Ravenspeaker). To fight these you need to understand how to properly position yourself to mitigate the damage caused by these counters. If your opponent plays something with Sever Summons you'll have to rely on your quality real champs to get a kill on it and start rebuilding your spider empire from the ground up again. Although, if you know you're opponent is using a sever summons champ you can choose to leave your spiderlings near your shrine (which is where most of them will start anyways).

In addition you may be concerned with the lack of detection. None of the spiders themselves have detection. For these elements you will need to include some other champions from within UD.