Poxnora analysis from a non-commited player

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dooiefries, Aug 18, 2015.

1. dooiefries

dooiefries The King of Potatoes

Hello,

My ING is Planewalkr and I have been playing Poxnora for a couple years. However, during this time I have only played a few matches. I’m level 49 and have perhaps 40 ranked matches under my belt.

Even though, I have a great interest in this game and in the concept behind it. Also, I have lurked the forums a lot to see what people are saying about the game and what are the issues within the community. Occasionally I have made a post.

I make this long post now, because I feel I have something to add to the discussion on this game as a whole. I do this because I see all discussion is being dominated by people who like the game and are in to it. Therefore, changes suggested is on the level of gameplay mechanics, balancing, level of rune accessibility, bug fixes, etc, because they argue from a perspective that the game is fun to play when these things get in order.

I would like to approach the future of this game from a completely different point of view. I am a historian by profession, board game designer, have an interest in psychology and have been an avid gamer (Tibia, Utopia, Counterstrike, RainbowSix, Age of Empires, Call of Combat, League of Legends, Battle for Wesnoth, Hearthstone).

My main point is that is does not matter if the game is fun or not compared to some other elements.

Myself and many others have been addicted to the most stupid of games. Games that were not per se fun to play, but had the structure that kept people playing. This is the main problem PoxNora has in my opinion. A total lack of viable retention structure for (new) players.