Should thematic abilities always be an upgrade path?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by devilsrath, Jan 28, 2015.

?

Should thematic upgrades always be an upgrade path?

1. Yes

35.6%
  2. No

64.4%
  1. devilsrath

devilsrath I need me some PIE!

And does this increase or decrease deck diversity?

Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
  2. WolfBones

WolfBones The King of Potatoes

I'm a newbie so you elaborate more what you mean? I might have an opinion if I knew what it was.

3. Cydna

Cydna Forum Royalty

For example, on the IS Wings, champions like Scarlet Wing, Obsidian Wing, etc have their Sigil ability on base. Whereas some champs like Hyaenids have their Racial abilities on the upgrade trees.

I would vote, maybe.

Depends on the theme.

4. devilsrath

devilsrath I need me some PIE!

As in new abilities like reclaim materials, old abilities like skeezick alliance. Should they always be an upgrade path so that the player can "chose away from" the theme, and perhaps play the same rune in decks that aren't sandbagged with theme based abilities. Or should they be base abilities?

5. WolfBones

WolfBones The King of Potatoes

Hmm I can go with yes they should be an upgrade path diverisity for players is what keeps an mmo alive imo.

6. Vote Kanye 2020

Vote Kanye 2020 Better-Known Member

I voted yes, althought there are special instances in which it should be on base. (Lore/Theme staple rune)

7. Goyo

Goyo I need me some PIE!

It depends... Can't vote.

8. Sealer0

Sealer0 I need me some PIE!

Unless it is some very flavourful/theme opening abillity I think that every racial, which procs a bonus from more units of the same race/class, should be on an upgrade path.

9. iPox

iPox Forum Royalty

Voted no, because I think themes should be promoted,
    and I believe that this would promote themes.
    But I'm not adamant in my opinion.

Derived from DMr's example: You wouldn't want to play a Hyaenid outside a Hyaenid BG.