Win ratios - Overall and faction specific

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ssharsted, Feb 11, 2016.

1. Markoth

Markoth Lord Inquisitor

2. smock425

smock425 The King of Potatoes

Yeah I saw that back in the day - so I know this data is available somewhere.

Without taking away from Sok's great work, I think I could do a lot better :) After all this is far from his primary responsibility whereas it's how I make my living!

And again I think the biggest improvement I'd like to make is releasing it in a user-queryable form - think less spreadsheet and more interactive reporting tool. Exponentially multiplies the amount of insights you can glean from data - especially with a userbase as analytical as Pox's.

Ssharsted likes this.
  3. doubtofbuddha

doubtofbuddha I need me some PIE!

I am not sure that is really something that would be useful or helpful. I mean it would be cool, and could potentially be very useful internally, but I am not sure making this public-facing would be beneficial for anyone involved.

4. smock425

Why's that? For instance take the thread Markoth linked - my impression of that is it led to many interesting and informative discussions from players re balance, considering factors that we hadn't previously weighted as appropriately, such as P1/P2 over faction/map weightings. And as discussions went on, updated reports allowed participants to directly assess the truth of their predictions, and inform future decisions.

Some potential benefits, in my opinion:
    • Figures to decisively answer whether X rune/map/IS is OP
      • Better for players - less reliance on anecdotal his-experience-vs-mine arguments
      • Better for DOG - less reliance on the same (of course they should segment for higher-ranked players when informing balance changes. And of course consider input from the Council as there will always be a human element)