Pox Nora Revamp - Preview 3

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Gedden, May 2, 2014.

1. Tarth

Tarth Devotee of the Blood Owl

Well what do you think would work for themes? As an older developer do you see it as shared mechanics or more about play style? What is more realistic to build around for development?

2. Sokolov

Sokolov The One True Cactuar Octopi

As a designer, I am far more in favor of developing an identify and a playstyle for themes, rather than using one or two "racials" and slapping it on everything across the board. Some of you might specifically remember the arguments I made in this regard towards Vampires.

So Minotaurs was something along these lines that I wanted to accomplish. They had the Dimension Door and the champion that deploys it, but there wasn't really a single ability that goes across them all, and the Door specifically was more along the lines of their being "mobile" in an indirect way (Battlemage has Swap. Culler has Dragging Attack. Fury had Phantom Dash. Gladiator had Charge. Insurgent had Crushing Charge).

But the reality is that Racials are a quick and low cost way to develop identify for a group, and is actually much more akin to the MtG style of design where typically most of the cards of a particular group in a set will all have the same or a variation of the same ability. Example would be the en-Kor, who all had the ability to redirect damage.

Woffleet likes this.
  3. Tarth

Interesting. I hope DOG follows that line of thinking and from what has been shown it seems that they are trying to do similar things.

Edit: Though your minotaur example is still set on race. Do you think race is where themes should focus or is it better to have themes where each race brings its own racial flavor to the themes whole? I guess a simpler way to ask it is, is there room in minotaurs for deep elfs, demons, etc to fit theme wise?

Last edited: May 4, 2014
    Saandro likes this.
  4. Sokolov

Sokolov The One True Cactuar Octopi