What will you be playing after Pox closes?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cinder405, Jun 15, 2018.

1. Sealer0

Sealer0 I need me some PIE!

Video games are not chess. They don't last forever.

2. Bondman007

Bondman007 I need me some PIE!

What are you playing that took you a YEAR to win a game?
    Geez...

3. Sokolov

Sokolov The One True Cactuar Octopi

4. Sokolov

I can't imagine a world where Chess isn't really played, but it's not trending up.

upload_2018-7-19_18-6-5.png

5. Sokolov

It's interesting note that many things have this trend. This is just how games are - they peak in popularity early on, and slowly decline until it is no longer sustainable.

upload_2018-7-19_18-8-30.png

6. Sokolov

7. Sokolov

upload_2018-7-19_18-9-44.png

badgerale likes this.
  8. Sealer0

I might be remembering it incorrectly, but i'm pretty sure my first win in crawl was somewhere between 9 and 12 months after i started playing. Then again I started playing back when the game had unreasonable OOD spawns, and I played fairly fast so I run through hundreds of characters before getting anywhere meaningful.

9. Sealer0

The rise of digital games and resurgence of quality boardgames certainly doesn't help the popularity of chess.

10. Sealer0

It must have something to do with availability of new games. In many ways, this is a heyday of video games, especially with the rise of indie development scene. We are at an age where almost anyone can learn to code and it is easy to distribute quality products. Games for the most part keep getting better and better and I wonder how long they can keep up their, so far rising, popularity.

This also means that people can and will move on relatively fast to new, fresh projects, or just games which suit them better as they mature. Personally, I find it fascinating.

11. Sokolov