Making the Jump

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Goatmanji, Feb 15, 2016.

1. Goatmanji

Goatmanji I need me some PIE!

I'm terrible at PVP PoxNora.

I know why. I've been playing Pox for a couple years now, since before the Owls took over. The problem is, I've always lost at PVP, so I play a few matches, and always go back to single player in frustration.

It's not that I hate losing--I've come to terms with that, though it isn't my favorite thing ever. It's that I hate losing SO BADLY and not understanding why. Now, before you chime in with all the usual comments and suggestions (spectate, read forums, git gud, whatever), just know I've probably already done it. I read the forums daily, I've researched runes and abilities and synergies and combos and meta until my eyes bled. I've spectated so many matches I think I've seen more PvP with other players than my own games. I've had 'pro' players play me 1 on 1 to try and teach me better ways. I've tried every faction, just about every feasible theme I've come across, and know what I like to play isn't considered shoebox. I could post my BGs, but I can assure you that my runes aren't my problem, it's my playstyle. And I don't know how to change that.

All that knowledge and time spent on Pox, and I still lose to every Joe Player that I come up against. My collection of expensive runes doesn't save me. I watch as all my synergies and plans go up in flames as the opponent easily blasts through whatever pitiful defenses I mount. After years of MtG and tabletop games, I have no problem following what's happening, and I always know exactly why I lose. I don't expect to be the best, or even achieve Limited rank. But I'd like to win a few games now n then... which is why I end up in Single Player modes again and again, reinforcing these bad habits of mine. It's an endless cycle.