Self-teaching programming, advice appreciated

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by kalasle, Jun 22, 2017.

1. kalasle

kalasle Forum Royalty

I'm teaching myself C# and how to use Unity this summer, partly for personal and partly for professional reasons. If anyone has any experience with self-taught coding, I'd love to hear it, or alternatively any advice for someone trying to learn. Any especially good resources? Tips for practicing / order of things to learn?

Hierokliff likes this.
  2. Regulate

Regulate I need me some PIE!

I believe Desert Owl Games employees recently self taught themselves unity, they've already made their first test app and put it out there for pre-alpha testing! Hopefully one of their employees can give you some tips :)

davre, NevrGonaGivUup and BurnPyro like this.
  3. Dagda

Dagda Forum Royalty

that was about to be the illest burn of 2017 and you went and had to be nice

o:

BurnPyro and SPiEkY like this.
  4. BurnPyro

BurnPyro Forum Royalty

Straight up though

5. MrBadguy

MrBadguy Guest

Just buy a "for dummies" book. That's how I learned C++. Once you learn about variables, expressions and functions, classes and hierarchy, you will start immersing yourself in documentation to create more complex programs but those books start out with enough basic stuff that you can just gradually increase the complexity. There's probably a good chunk of online tutorials but they're not always well structured. Also, consider using MS Visual Studio if your learning is more leaned towards creating small programs as it has a very newb friendly interface that allows you to create stuff by drag and dropping tools but also allows you to peek at the back-end and how it was created by the program so you can later reproduce it just by coding. If it's game oriented, you can try Unity or Unreal Engine so you can start prototyping stuff as you learn.

SPiEkY and kalasle like this.
  6. xaznsoulx

xaznsoulx Supreme Dream Team 夢想 隊

@MikeLin @Imba