Fresh New Player Questions!

Discussion in 'Training Grounds and Game Guides' started by ImmaculateEvil, Oct 23, 2014.

1. ImmaculateEvil

ImmaculateEvil New Member

Hello!

I'm new to Pox Nora entirely and have been playing slowly (mostly doing whatever achievements I can do for the day without a real BG). I am not new to strategy games, niche-less f2p friendly games or competing at a decently high level in most games. I've finished the tutorial and have unlocked marketplace and stuff.

That said I have a few questions on where I should go from here:

For now, I'd like to pick up a BG to learn the little nuances of the games with. I absolutely do not care about winning or losing until I actually don't suck at the game. I would prefer to play something with potential to be aggressive while remaining flexible (I don't know if that exists here but more like tempo-aggro as opposed to all-in). So far I've mostly been playing Cavernborn which I've read is an absolutely horrible BG but I have fun with it regardless.

From what I've tried out, I think I want to go with Voils because I really enjoy the fast board presence/mobility. Also it seems like most people just play what they want? Can you climb high on the ladder with a large variety of BGs or are there actually a handful of BGs that are competitively viable.

Would people recommend going voils if I feel confident that I don't care about difficulty?
    Are voils decent at a top tier level?
    Any general tips to playing voils? To be honest I don't know too much of the general strategy for the theme.
    Sample bgs?
    How do I spent my gold? (10k, nothing bought, have 2x cavern screechers from random battles, not a huge huge fan of the rest of SP besides Voils but don't mind buying the avatar first if I do go Voils)

2. Oldmaster

Oldmaster I need me some PIE!