I am new and the curve is steep.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Alan, Aug 17, 2017.

1. Alan

Alan The King of Potatoes

OK so.....i started playing a few days ago. i am beginning to get the hang of it but there are a few things i cannot figure out.

What is the best way of getting new cards?
    Are the pre-made decks in the marketplace worth buying?
    Should i complete the solo missions before i play other people?
    There is so much content where do i start?
    Any tips for someone new like me?

This game has been out for a long time but recent content is hard to find to help what seems to be a steep learning curve. Anything to help me figure out this game would be awesome.

Gnomes, super71 and Lushiris like this.
  2. sidmouth

sidmouth The King of Potatoes

I haven't played in a while so other people will give better answers but I'll give a couple.

I would say go ahead and complete the solo missions that give cards but don't spend a lot of time solo-ing if you intend to PVP. They are two totally different games and the only way to get better at PVP is to PVP. You are going to be terrible at first. It's ok, you'll get better. You're going to be so terrible, just roll with it. The game has a lot of interactions and mechanics and the only way to get better is to just keep losing. Lose a lot.

This also kind of addresses your content question. When you are losing, look at all the runes your opponent is playing and try to understand what that rune does, why it's being used etc. Over time you will just start to build the encyclopedic knowledge you need. It's like playing Magic:TG.