Is there a feasible way for a new player to start anymore?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Garr123, Jul 11, 2014.

1. Garr123

Garr123 I need me some PIE!

I haven't played in a long time, and my own situation had my thinking: If I didn't have pleasant memories of the game and enough runes to toy around with middling decks/use poxbox, why would I even give the game a chance?

I just imagine using one of the free decks, jumping on and getting instantly obliterated by the handful of people who still play. With little new blood and with no recourse in deckbuilding beyond spending a large sum of money on a game I haven't really begun to understand or enjoy due to one-sided stomps, where's the hook to continue playing and buy packs?

Seems like a bigger issue than balance, but then I'm not a doctor and pretty awful at the game at the moment.

2. reskk

reskk Member

Dumping about 500 dollars into poxbox.

3. Garr123

Doesn't really seem like a sustainable business strategy for a game company due to obvious reasons, but again I'm no doctor.

4. Hiyashi

Hiyashi I need me some PIE!

As the game is right now I don't see a way for a new player to get into it without spending a large amount of money.

In my opinion the reason why Pox Nora is hard to get into is the fact that Pox Nora doesn't have enough new players. If we had a bigger playerbase the Training Grounds wouldn't be a wasteland and a newcommer could be eased into the tortures of ranked play with people of equal skill levels in there. But as it is we can't give new players an experience to enjoy because we have no new players. It's actually a somewhat interesting problem!

I think the official DOG statement was that they want to fix all the balancing and gameplay issues first and then start a marketing campaign to increase the player influx. Until that happens PN will be a rather horrible experience for a newbie, I imagine~

5. Morfeas

Morfeas I need me some PIE!

Pedeguerra likes this.
  6. Glad0