New game 'Nora Nation' using Pox Nora as a basis

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by StormChasee, Jun 21, 2015.

1. StormChasee

StormChasee The King of Potatoes

I wasn't really sure whether this thread should go here on in the general discussion section since it references the Pox Nora game. IF the mods deem it should go there, then let it be there.

This is not about the Pox Nora community (though they would be certainly welcome to join this game if it could be developed).

This is not about changing the Pox Nora game itself, but it will cover modifications needed for this other game.

This is some ideas I've been tossing around in my head since I started playing this game.

In short, the game I'm envisioning is a nation building 4X strategic game that uses Pox Nora (or something like it) to execute the battles. The strategic level would also use a card based system as options for the player. I have not run across such a game. If there is one please let me know.

The card games I've seen are basically tactical games in which people build their deck and the battles are on some arena like in Pox Nora or cards facing each other or some other type of a stylized combat system. Each battle is a game. There may be a campaign, but those battles have in a strict order of battle A before battle B etc. You cannot get to the next battle unless you win the previous. None that I have found put the tactical battles within a strategic framework. The key strategic decision is what cards to put in the deck. Beyond that are the tactics involved dealing with which cards come up within the rules of the game. That is fine if that is all that is desired in the game.