Returning Player: Need some help

Discussion in 'Training Grounds and Game Guides' started by kurisukun, Sep 13, 2016.

1. kurisukun

kurisukun New Member

I started playing Pox shortly after it came out. Played it probably too much, was pretty good. Made a lot of trickdecks, that did a lot of silly things. It was fun. Then SoE bought the game and College got rough and I just kinda stopped playing.

So now I've come back, and WOW things have changed. You don't upgrade your units anymore (well, not as extensively) and Speed works differently and all my Shards I got from farming campaigns are gone and.... and... Well, I don't know what else!

There are two main problems that I've run into. One, is that none of my BGs are even remotely playable anymore. I ran apprentice mages because you could get em up to 8AP a turn for cheap. Now you can't even do that! which doesn't make them bad, necessarily. I just don't know what good is anymore.

The other problem is that it seems that my collection is now pretty much worthless... I got a couple of Polymorph's sitting around but other than that everything I have seems to be a part of the "Core" set, which seems to be given away in game like candy. The tutorial gave me a Menelaus! I remember begging for WEEKS for someone to trade that to me. And here we are giving em away.

Don't get me wrong, I think that's a good thing. always felt like the game's free-to-playness was a little on the weak side, and it's good to see that you can earn your way to some good BGs now. But I just... I don't really know how to proceed. I had kind of expected to show back up with my pretty large collection and be able to trade for all the new cool hotness. But instead... it looks like any old joe can just go craft themselves a Thorn Collection now. And while that's probably better for the game, it kinda screws me over, ya know?