The fine line you tread (and have stepped over)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Querthose, Jun 27, 2014.

1. Querthose

Querthose The King of Potatoes

I've been playing Pox for many years now (Since Grimlic), and I've seen the game go through many phases. I remember what it was like in the beginning and what it became.

While I agree that powercreep began to be a bit of an issue, my fear with this revamp was that you would end up falling right back into the original- opposite- problem the game began with. Having high nora costs associated with abilities leads to one natural conclusion- running cheap, stripped down champs. That's the only way to win at a meta level.

Unfortunately, that actually makes for an incredibly dull game on the aggregate. The work that was done to reduce the nora cost of units added a LOT of depth to Pox by allowing more diversity of champions and abilities on the field. In the years since those early days, it's easy to forget that virtually every unit in every faction had the same basic build logic: increase speed, 2x HP upgrades, and otherwise the cheapest abilities you could select because whoever had the most units on the board was usually the one who won.

I hate to say it, but the recent revamp seems to be leading right back to that boring, one dimension place. I think it time to push back towards the middle here. Overcosting runes just ensures they don't see play. Overcosting abilities just ensures that none of the units are all that interesting or differentiated.

SirHazyrd likes this.
  2. Morfeas

Morfeas I need me some PIE!

This is what negative feedback should look like. Good thread mate.

SirHazyrd, st3ck and Goyo like this.
  3. Goyo

Goyo I need me some PIE!

You should wait at least a week before telling this game is boring.

Don't even mention there are going to be constant patches adressing balance issues and spells, relics and equipments redesigns.

4. Querthose