Is it Playstation launch day? or is it supposed to be a some kind of secret?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by devilsrath, May 23, 2017.

1. devilsrath

devilsrath I need me some PIE!

There has been next to no publicity on the day of launch on Playstation... are you kidding me?

The last time Poxnora posted on Facebook was 10 May 2017...

The twitter feed is literally a list of people complaining about the client.

I'm disappointed to say the least. I'm no marketing expert but i'm certain I could do a better job in my sleep.

Tweek516 and TheRavager like this.
  2. haroldkin

haroldkin I need me some PIE!

The launch is definitely a little half-baked, but making claims you couldn't possibly hold to, (better job in your sleep), doesn't lend your grievance much clout. I'm sure the launch would be much worse if you or I or anyone attempted it in our sleep.

That said, it's clear this morning has been a bit of a fumble. The 05/23 deadline was obviously premature. If Sony stipulated this date, then DOG should have insisted on Sony's help to make it happen. Better still, a stiff armed "NO" until all the pins were in place(*). On the other hand, if DOG kept telling Sony that all was good, all on course, all A-OK, well, we can only hope the frosting will be tasty enough to make up for the delay and the possibly unbaked center. Personally, I can't make any comment about the new client until Steam gets updated, a sadly neglected aspect to this launch(**), (lesson, make sure you have enough forks for everyone, especially those already seated).

(*) A lost art in the world of software development.
    (**) Necessary because a stand alone port wasn't provided for Mac.

3. Hierokliff

Hierokliff I need me some PIE!

Doubt it could be to expensive to use Facebook or Twitter, or even have a newsinfo on their own website besides the banner. Its almost like they are ashamed of the coming client and dont want to push for it.